Your NL Cy Young Winner Is Tim Lincecum

Make that two in a row for Tim Lincecum, as he is crowned the Cy Young Winner for the NL.

Of the 32 ballots submitted by two writers in each league city, Lincecum (15-7, 2.48 ERA) was listed first on 11, one fewer than the St. Louis Cardinals’ Adam Wainwright (19-8, 2.63 ERA), who finished third overall behind teammate Chris Carpenter (17-4, 2.24 ERA), the 2005 winner.

Lincecum was named second on 12 ballots and third on nine for a total of 100 points, based on a 5-3-1 tabulation system. In addition to his 12 first-place votes, Wainwright got five seconds and 15 thirds to score 90 points. Lincecum and Wainwright were the only pitchers on all ballots. Carpenter was first on nine ballots, second on 14 and third on seven for 94 points.

Burn one in celebration, Tim.

Tim Lincecum Goes Back-to-Back With Tight Win (BBWAA)

Fan of No Guts, No Glory? Subscribe to our feed! or Follow us on Twitter!

(Visited 14 times, 1 visits today)

Speak Your Mind